Need advice for website with cross relation between categories

More
7 years 11 months ago - 7 years 11 months ago #61539 by ChristopheSeg
I'm developping a website using FlexiContent (I'm a newbie in FC) searching for some advice regarding my website structure.
I'm sure FLEXIcontent is the best solution for my project. I'm now searching the best method to develop my website with as less coding as possible. Could some FLEXIcontent user indicates me if I'm using the right way to achieve my goal?

I have to manage sort and list contents by main categories:
Projects: project 1 project2....
Teams: team1 team2...
People: people1 people2...

This is trivial using categories, but the tricky thing is I also need cross relations to link projects teams and people:
for teams: team_is_involved_in_projects (to indicate that a team is involved in one/some projects)
for Projects: project_is_conducted_by_teams
for people: people_is affected_to_teams people_is affected_to_projects
people_is directing_teams people_is directing_projects

I found and tried 2 solutions:
First Solution. Use multiple categories FLEXIcontent feature so that for example one person is affected to people_categories project_categories and team_categories
In that case when browsing one project category items (project 1), I get a list of all the items under the main project1 category (desired behaviour), but also all items (team, people) belonging to secondary categorie project1 (unwanted behaviour). I didn't find a way to list (FC menus) only the main category items (May be I missed something). Such filtering seems only possible with the FLEXIcontent universal module, but browsing all my main content with module do not seems as a good solution.