FLEXIcontent vs. Fabrik - advice please

More
14 years 4 months ago #1818 by tonyg
Hello, I have been a web developer for 10 years, and a Joomla developer for 8 months. I have just found FLEXIcontent today and I am highly impressed. I have played with a local demo copy for about 1 hour and I can't go to sleep I am so excited!

I have been building a client website for the past 2 months using Fabrik (fabrikar.com). Half of that time has been spent just learning Fabrik. After experimenting with FLEXI for a short time tonight, it seems to me that FLEXI can do nearly everything Fabrik can do. I have a few questions that will help me determine if I should scrap Fabrik and rebuild everything on FLEXI.

Questions:

1) Groups: Fabrik has excellent "Group" management to manage fields and elements in a form. Is there such a feature in FLEXI? Or would I just achieve this same result with the FLEXI templating?

2) Database joins: Fabrik is very powerful at the low level allowing multiple databases to be joined. For example - I have a FAQ database and a PRODUCT database. I wish to link each Product with it's respective FAQ. How can this be done in FLEXI? I am thinking tags would be useful for this?

3) CSV Import: Fabrik allows for very easy import/export of large amounts of data. Can this be done in FLEXI? Or would I have to do some MySQL import voodoo? I have 100 products I wish to import to articles, please advise the best way to do this in FLEXI.

4) Front End edit: This feature is not as important, and I apologize if these topics have been covered elsewhere, but what are the FLEXI plans and/or existing capabilities for editing on the front end?

5) e-mail forms: Fabrik has versatile plugins for different form submission actions - does FLEXI have the capability to e-mail forms upon submission? I will poke around today and see if I can answer some more of my own questions :)