Directory Sorting / Costum Views and Lists

More
14 years 3 months ago #2877 by flinz
Hi everybody,

I'm fairly new to flexi/joomla and have a basic problem:

I need to generate views of my content (grouped by category and a full list). right now I can accomplish this via the directory view, but as soon as I get to the listing of the actual items, I have them ordered by the title field, which is the only one displayed.

I need a list ordered not by the "title" field, but by one of my custom fields, it's "last name" actually.
also i'd like to change the way my content is displayed in lists, meaning NOT displaying the title field, but some custom fields, maybe defined by some custom template.

Any thoughts on how to accomplish this easily?
I would be very thankful for help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 3 months ago #2949 by flinz
Well i figured out I should be able to set the sorting by setting it in the item-title tab ( www.flexicontent.org/documentati ... views.html ) but although I choose my costum field types to be searchable advanced searchable and filterable, they don't show up as a filterable column in my item-title overview.

How can I sort by custom fields columns?

More
14 years 3 months ago #2997 by jonnyeol
I'm stuck on exactly the same thing. Here's my site:

www.terminateshere.co.uk/index.p ... &Itemid=21

Preferably, I'd like to sort by column headings, like you could in the regular Joomla category lists. Failing that, I'd like to be able to find SOME way of sorting by Artist, rather than by Item Title.

Is this even possible to achieve? I've searched through the forums and not found a workable solution, so this seems to be a common problem.

More
14 years 3 months ago #2998 by flinz
Apparently it has been mentioned www.flexicontent.org/forum/index.php?f=2...rb_v=viewtopic#p2951 that TEXT costum fields are not filterable (and as far as i understand it, not orderable) as of beta 5.