UI SQL: How to get the first item of a TextSelect

More
10 years 5 months ago #42703 by evolutiveMedia
Because good concepts are endless in time, I'm reconsidering returning to web development: Thanks to all the team for developing such a fantastic tool!

As you can suppose, I'm very new to FLEXI, infact I'm locked with the SQL writing conventions, for the 'TextSelect' field type.

I'm trying to get data from a previous field that is in the same record/item but no values are loaded into the combo. I don't find enough information on the web and I must admit that the tooltips are not helping me too much.

Here are the SQL queries:

1st FIELD: (it's working)
SELECT Provincia as value, Provincia as text FROM #__provincias

2nd Field: (Not working-I'm trying to get the previous field value)
SELECT Municipio as value, Municipio as text FROM #__municipios as m, #__provincias as p WHERE p.Provincia='field' and m.CodProv=p.CodProv

After some tests, I deduced the problem is in the 'field' spelling: '{item->fieldname}' but I can't even imagine what's wrong with it. I tried provincia, Provincia, item->provincia, item->Provincia, field->..., I tried '', {}, '{}', {{}} and more without success.

Do you know where is the problem? Is there another way to do that? Hope I gave you enough details.

Thank you for your great effort!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 5 months ago #42774 by hede
Dont know if I understand your problem but as far as the field names are concerned you can find those in the field setup at the the label "Name", e.g. to retreive the field name of the core field "Document type" you would do $field->name and get document_type.

FF on Win10, FLEXIcontent version 3.0.10 on Joomla 3.4

More
10 years 5 months ago #42802 by ggppdk
Hello

in order to use values of a different field inside,

you have 2 choices
-- either use field replacements in the parameters
value prefix/value suffix/all value opentag/all values closetag