Starting with Flexicontent - the very basics

4 years 10 months ago - 4 years 10 months ago #60894 by Anazititis
Hi there,
this is my first try to use Flexicontent and face a problem which i am sure is very easy to resolve, however i did not manage to overcome it, nor did i find anything about this in the tutorials - maybe because it is so basic.
I created a new (Joomla version 3.5.0) website and installed the latest Flexicontent version and the JCE editor - nothing else. I also changed the htaccess.txt to .htaccess, to get rid of that .index.php in urls.
I created two categories and added one item (article) in each category. Here i stuck. What do i have to do to see this new article on front end? I created the menu items on main menu and i think i did everything correct, but i cannot see the articles, i get error message 404 not found.

I noticed that a new menu, Flexicontent Hidden Menu was created automatically, what is this and how is it used?

Another thing i noticed, is the url: for Cyprus museums from the main menu on top, you go to the url http://181.224.135.158/~royalart/cims.com/cyprus-museums, while if you use the Latest articles links to the right on home page, by clicking on Cyprus museums you go to the url 181.224.135.158/~royalart/cims.com/8-cyp...ums/2-cyprus-museums . Of course, for both urls i get the 404 Not Found Error message.
One last thing on this, those numbers in the urls , is there a way to get rid of them?

I understand that this should be the easiest thing to do, but i almost decided that Flexicontent is not for me, then thought to write here, please give me your lights :)
I am an experienced web master, but not very experienced with Joomla, less than a year experience, still i have already built 5-6 professional websites with it.
Website url is 181.224.135.158/~royalart/cims.com/

With best regards from Cyprus,
Charis Theocharous.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.