Categories not being recognized

More
13 years 9 months ago #9031 by utekathy
I just upgraded to 1.5.3 and found difficulties with the 'categories'. The categories exist and have appropriate items under them, but there is no list of categories on the drop down menu on the items page. Also, on the category edit page, the drop down list is only the category numbers, not the names.

Thus, users are not able to find articles on the category menu pages and instead get a '404 error-category does not exist'

I did not 'import the joomla structure' assuming that wasn't necessary on an upgrade, only a new install.

I am not a website developer so my knowledge is extremely basic.

Thanks for any help. Kathy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 9 months ago #9033 by yopyop001
Strange...

I can have a look if you PM me an access to your site administration.

Rgds

More
13 years 5 months ago #11774 by utekathy
Hi there,

We're having this problem again, now in conjunction with another problem.

As a starting point, items and categories were displaying properly. However after the following actions, they no longer are.

First problem, my starting point, was that an item version needed to be updated to current version. Flexicontent gave the "update these tasks then refresh page" message. I clicked the update button, but it is not updating. It is only returning me to top of page with no effect, even after refreshing.

Meanwhile, I noticed the "import joomla structure" option. I'm a newer admin on the site and had never seen that option before. I thought perhaps, given the situation, that also needed to be updated. So I ran that.