com_content sublayer - background or why did you...

More
14 years 4 months ago #1743 by pepperstreet
Hello,
first of all, I really like your project and the VERY fast progress. Amazing, no doubt. My following technical question is just for personal interest. I have some relational DB knowledge and i know different languages from my first "career"... a long time ago ;-)

Nowadays, i am more a designer and fortunately the opensource market allows me to concentrate on other things than coding. But i am still interested in the backgrounds. It´s hard to get rid of old habits and getting used to new ones ;-)

Finally the question...:
I wonder, why it is so difficult to add a CCK feature to the original com_content? Is it really impossible? I mean, i see so many different approaches and solutions. Each developer seems to have a different technique. IMHO the unlimited nested categories is not sooo important, if you have a good tagging solution. I remember JXtended labels, which is added onto com_content. Why can´t this be done with custom fields and extra datatables?! I guess, the custom type submission and administration HAS TO BE a new component, right?

Is everything tied together in joomla's code or what is the biggest problem? Was it really necessary to build upon a new com_content?

Thanks for listening.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 4 months ago #1754 by phattpat
There is actually a CCK out at the moment which does insert directly into the com_content.

Its by jSeblod and its at RC stage 4 at the moment but looks very promising. I'm debating about which one to use for my current project, Flexi or jSeblod.. its neck and neck.

have a look and compare yourself
www.jseblod-cck.com

More
14 years 4 months ago #1755 by pepperstreet
@phattpat

i know that solution as well. To be honest, i don´t like it. It uses the content html field and that has an affect on all content display modules etc.