Using extra field to activate/disactivate items

More
11 years 4 months ago #30582 by Neow85
Hello !

I am new to Joomla and have already begun with a complex project.
I have a multilingual site with many subdomains. So I use Falang, JoomSEF and VirtualDomains to make everything working. It seems ok. However, an article could be displayed on several langages and hidden on others. Falang doesn't allow to make that, because it will replace missing/unpublished translations by default text.

I think FlexiContent could help me. I've started to create an extra field "language" with my different languages as checkbox. Now I want items to be available on the frontend only if the current language matches checked languages.

Do you think I am going on the right way to do what I want ? If it's possible, how to achieve that ?
I don't really know how to handle this since it is my very first Joomla's project.

Thanks in advance !

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 4 months ago #30585 by ggppdk
First,

before you make this design decision,
are you sure it is best approach?

FLEXIContent and Joomla define article's (=FC item) language per Content item, and FLEXIcontent allows you to associate item's translations (THIS way you can translate ALL flexicontent field not just title and description like Falang Does, use Falang only for translating category names/description, field names, etc)

Also for associated translations can share untranslatable fields, (goto a custom FC field and define it as untranslatable)

-- Flexicontent is Free but involves a big effort on our part.
Like the our support? (for a bug-free FC, despite having a long list of functions) Like the features? Like the ongoing development and future commitment to FLEXIcontent?
-- Add your voice to the FLEXIcontent JED listing with a 5-star...

More
11 years 4 months ago #30595 by Neow85
Thanks for your quick answer.